Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors

Acceptance as a doctoral candidate

Since 2015, binding acceptance as a doctoral candidate at one of the faculties of MLU has been standardised across the university by the “General Provisions for Doctoral Regulations at MLU”.
Prospective doctoral candidates can apply for acceptance via the Löwenportal - the central online portal of MLU. Please make sure that you have followed the guidance on the respective faculty webpages when applying.

See here for the application for acceptance as a doctoral candidate.

By accepting someone as a doctoral candidate, the respective faculty declares its willingness in principle to entrust the doctoral candidate with the writing of the thesis and to examine it upon completion. Furthermore, admission as a doctoral candidate formally determines that the doctoral candidate will be admitted to the doctoral examination procedure following completion of his/her thesis, if he/she submits the documents required for admission to the doctoral examination procedure.

We recommend that an application for admission is submitted in good time upon beginning work on the thesis. This recommendation applies in particular to doctoral candidates who gained their Master’s degree abroad, because such will be examined for equivalence to a German Master’s degree during the processing of the application. Equivalence is the formal prerequisite for doing a doctorate in Germany/Halle.

For the purpose of this ‘examination of equivalence’, please submit the following documents to the responsible Dean’s office:

  • The original and certified copies of all degree certificates gained from a university-level institution or university e.g. Bachelor’s or Master’s degree certificate. Please submit one certified copy in the original language and one certified translation into German or English. (Documents in German or English do not require any translation).
  • The original and certified copies of your transcripts of records in the original language and certified translation into German or English (Documents in German or English do not require any translation).

Information from the faculties

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure





Annahme als Doktorand/in

An der MLU ist seit 2015 die verbindliche Annahme als Doktorandin bzw. Doktorand an den Fakultäten universitätseinheitlich durch die „Allgemeinen Bestimmungen für Promotionsordnungen an der MLU“ geregelt.
Für den Antrag auf Annahme als Doktorandin bzw. Doktorand steht über das Löwenportal – das zentrale Onlineportal der MLU – ein Formular zur Verfügung. Bitte beachten Sie hierzu auch die Hinweise auf den entsprechenden Internetseiten der Fakultäten.

Den Antrag auf Annahme als Doktorand/in können Sie hier stellen.

Mit der Annahme als Doktorandin bzw. Doktorand wird durch die jeweilige Fakultät die grundsätzliche Bereitschaft erklärt, die Doktorandin bzw. den Doktoranden bei der Erstellung der Dissertation zu betreuen und diese nach Fertigstellung zu begutachten. Darüber hinaus wird durch die Annahme als Doktorandin bzw. Doktorand förmlich festgestellt, dass die Doktorandin bzw. der Doktorand nach Fertigstellung ihrer bzw. seiner Dissertation zum Promotionsverfahren zugelassen wird, falls sie bzw. er die für die Zulassung zum Promotionsverfahren erforderlichen Unterlagen vorlegt.

Wir empfehlen, den Antrag auf Annahme möglichst zeitig mit Beginn der Arbeit an der Dissertation zu stellen. Dies gilt insbesondere für Promovierende, die ihren Masterabschluss im Ausland erworben haben, denn dieser wird während der Antragsbearbeitung auf Gleichwertigkeit zu einem deutschen Master geprüft. Die Gleichwertigkeit ist die formale Voraussetzung für eine Promotion in Deutschland/Halle.

Für diese sogenannte Äquivalenzprüfung reichen Sie bitte in Ihrem zuständigen Dekanat folgende Unterlagen ein:

  • Beglaubigte Kopien aller erworbenen Hochschul- bzw. Universitätsabschlüsse, z.B. Bachelor- und/oder Masterabschluss bzw. Diplom. Bitte reichen Sie eine beglaubigte Kopie in der Originalsprache und eine beglaubigte Übersetzung auf Deutsch oder Englisch ein. (Dokumente in deutscher oder englischer Sprache bedürfen keiner Übersetzung).
  • Beglaubigte Kopien Ihrer Studienleistung in der Originalsprache und eine beglaubigte Übersetzung auf Deutsch oder Englisch.

Zum Seitenanfang