Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Contact

Esther Smykalla
Referentin Internationale Forschung / Wissenschaftlermobilität

phone: +49 345 55 21 538
fax: +49 345 55 274 27

room 1.03.0
Universitätsring 19/20
06108 Halle (Saale)

postal address:
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
International Office / PhD Network
06099 Halle (Saale)

Angela Hoffmann

phone: +49 345 55 217 45
fax: +49 345 55 274 27

room 1.03.0
Universitätsring 19/20
06108 Halle (Saale)

postal address:
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
International Office / PhD Network
06099 Halle (Saale)

Further settings

Login for editors

Accommodation

General information about living in Halle

Greater demand due to the new semester

Please note: In the beginning of the winter semester, there can be temporary shortages on the housing market in Halle. Please schedule enough time for the search for accommodation and contact several providers, since we know from experience that many requests will go unaswered due to the great demand.

Compared to other cities in Germany living in Halle is quite affordable: Many apartments are available and the rent is generally low. Among students and doctoral candidates it is common to live in shared flats (German ‘WG’=Wohngemeinschaft). But you can also find an accommodation in a hall of residence in Halle or you can rent your own apartment. See below for information about how to find an accommodation which corresponds to your personal needs.

For the first few days or short stays:

The PhD-Network created a list of accommodations. It can be provided on request via e-mail:

For longer stays (from one month):

  • Halle Student Union (Studentenwerk Halle):    The Halle Student Union can help students and doctoral candidates (aged below 30) find accommodation in a hall of residence in Halle. The rent for one month is about 195 euros (including additional costs). Important: The dorm rooms are primarily allocated to Bachelor and Master Students. Since the rooms are known to be popular, we recommend to apply early.
  • Georg Forster Haus: The international guesthouse of Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina has some apartments for international scholars and researchers at its disposal. They can be rented from 4 weeks until 13 months.
  • Bulletin Board: The International Office offers a bulletin board where you can find advertisements posted by German students who go abroad and who are looking for a subtenant for their room or their flat.
  • Stud.IP: Stud.IP is an e-learning and communication platform which is used by students and lecturers. It also provides a bulletin board with a category called Wohnungen // WGs where you can find apartment/room rental ads.

Advice:

In many foyers of the university buildings (e.g. Löwengebäude, Steintor-Bibliothek or Juridicum) and cafeterias you can find pin boards with a lot of apartment/room rental ads!

Important:

Please note that if you want to stay in Halle for more than three months you are required by law to register as a new resident in the citizen service office of the City of Halle upon arriving in Halle!

Important:

In Germany, there is the public broadcasting service. This includes the group of ARD, ZDF and Deutschlandfunk. These channels are received freely on radio, TV and online. The broadcasting companies have a statutory mandate to inform, educate, counsel and entertain as many people as possible. To achieve this, every household has to pay the so called "Rundfunkbeitrag" (broadcasting fee). This fee of currently 17.50 € per month finances the public broadcasters.

When several people live together in one household (couples, families, WGs), the fee has to be paid only by one person.

More information here   .

Registration is possible here    (only in German)

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Kontakt

Esther Smykalla
Referentin Internationale Forschung / Wissenschaftlermobilität

Telefon: +49 345 55 21 538
Telefax: +49 345 55 274 27

Raum 1.03.0
Universitätsring 19/20
06108 Halle (Saale)

Postanschrift:
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
International Office / PhD Network
06099 Halle (Saale)

Angela Hoffmann

Telefon: +49 345 55 217 45
Telefax: +49 345 55 274 27

Raum 1.03.0
Universitätsring 19/20
06108 Halle (Saale)

Postanschrift:
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
International Office / PhD Network
06099 Halle (Saale)

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Wohnen / Unterkunft

Allgemeine Informationen zur Wohnsituation in Halle

Im Vergleich zu anderen Städten in Deutschland ist die Wohnsituation in Halle günstig: Es gibt viele verfügbare Wohnungen und die Mieten sind im Allgemeinen relativ niedrig. Unter Studierenden und Promovierenden ist das Wohnen in so genannten WGs (Wohngemeinschaften) sehr verbreitet. Viele wohnen jedoch auch in den Wohnheimen des Studentenwerkes oder in einer eigenen Wohnung. Untenstehend finden Sie Informationen dazu, wie Sie am besten eine Unterkunft in Halle finden, die Ihren Bedürfnissen entspricht.

Für die ersten Tage nach der Ankunft oder kurze Aufenthalte:

Das PhD-Network hat eine Liste möglicher Unterkünfte zusammengestellt und stellt Ihnen diese gerne auf Anfrage per E-Mail an zur Verfügung.

Für Aufenthalte ab einem Monat:

  • Wohngemeinschaften (WG):    Auf der Internetseite WG-Gesucht.de finden Sie Zimmer für einen längeren Aufenthalt, aber auch Zimmer für wenige Wochen oder Monate. Häufig sind diese bereits möbliert.
  • Studentenwerk Halle:    Das Studentenwerk Halle betreibt Studentenwohnheime, auf die sich Studierende und Promovierende (unter 30 Jahren) bewerben können. Die Monatsmiete liegt durchschnittlich bei 195 EUR und enthält alle Nebenkosten. Wichtig: Wohnheimzimmer werden vorrangig an Bachelor- und Masterstudierende vergeben. Da diese Zimmer erfahrungsgemäß sehr beliebt sind, ist es empfehlenswert, sich frühzeitig zu bewerben.
  • Georg Forster Haus: Das Internationale Begegnungszentrum der Martin-Luther-Universität verfügt über eine kleine Anzahl an Wohnungen für GastwissenschaftlerInnen. Diese können für 4 Wochen und für bis zu 13 Monate gemietet werden.
  • Schwarzes Brett: Das International Office stellt ein schwarzes Brett zur Verfügung, auf dem vor allem deutsche Studierende, die ins Ausland gehen, für die Zeit einen Untermieter für ihr Zimmer oder ihre Wohnung suchen.
  • Stud.IP: Das Stud.IP ist eine Lern-und Kommunikationsplattform der Uni Halle, die von allen Studierenden und Lehrenden genutzt werden kann. Im Stud.IP gibt es ebenso ein schwarzes Brett u.a. mit der Rubrik Wohnungen // WGs, in welcher Wohnungsangebote- oder gesuche veröffentlicht werden.

Tipp:

In vielen Eingangsbereichen der Universitätsgebäude (z. B. Löwengebäude, Steintor-Bibliothek oder Juridicum) und Mensen gibt es Pinnwände, an denen Studierende ihre Wohnungsangebote oder -gesuche aufhängen!

Hinweis:

Wenn Sie länger als 90 Tage in Halle bleiben wollen, müssen Sie sich bei der Stadt anmelden!

Hinweis:

In Deutschland gibt es den öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk. Hierzu zählen die Senderfamilie von ARD, ZDF und Deutschlandfunk. Diese Sender können frei im Hörfunk, Fernsehen und Internet empfangen werden. Die Rundfunkanstalten haben den gesetzlichen Auftrag, möglichst viele Menschen mit Informationen, Bildung, Beratung und Unterhaltung zu versorgen. Um dies erfüllen zu können, ist jeder Haushalt dazu verpflichtet, den sog. Rundfunkbeitrag zu zahlen. Dieser Beitrag in Höhe von aktuell 17,50 € monatlich finanziert die öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten.

Leben mehrere Personen in einem Haushalt zusammen (Paare, Familien, WG) muss nur ein Beitrag gezahlt werden.

Weitere Informationen sowie die Anmeldung gibt es hier   .

Zum Seitenanfang