Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors





Life in Halle

Halle City

Halle City

Halle City

You will find Halle to be a green city with lots of history and a rich cultural scene. The cost of living is reasonable, and there are plenty of interesting things to do with your leisure time.

Performances and shows at the opera, theatre, variety or cabaret venues, and cinemas are a staple of the city’s cultural scene, as well as concerts and exhibitions. Halle is also the venue for the internationally renowned Händelfestspiele music festival and Central Germany’s biggest fair, known as the Laternenfest. Strolling through the streets, you will see a range of architecture from various different periods, such as Jugendstil, Classicism, Baroque, and the Renaissance. These combine to give this city of nearly 250,000 people its unique atmosphere.

Marketplace Halle

Marketplace Halle

Marketplace Halle

Everything in Halle is so accessible. By bus, tram, or bike, you can soon reach the various institutions, the nightlife hubs, the theatre, or the various green spaces. Halle is also a convenient base from which to explore Germany as a whole. It is only a relatively short trip by train to Berlin, Leipzig, Dresden, or the coast. If you are heading further afield, Leipzig/Halle Airport is just 10 minutes from the main railway station.
Halle also has plenty for you to enjoy in your leisure time, with many bars, pubs, and restaurants where you can relax and treat yourself to a nice meal. You can always move on to the various clubs and other hot spots as the night progresses. But after a nice day, many of us are simply looking forward to going home, and accommodation is relatively cheap compared with other large cities, such as Munich or Cologne. The residential centres and halls provided by the student union - where tutors can help international students with any issues or problems they may have - represent exceptional value. Academics can find somewhere to stay at the International Guest House.

Those looking to relax after studying hard will really love the Peißnitz. This large park on the banks of the Saale has lots of space to get in touch with nature, play sport, or have a barbecue with friends. Halle also has lakes and woods within easy reach. There are opportunities as well to do something more active with other members of MLU or the city's wider population, with a host of associations for those looking to become involved in sport, music, or voluntary work. The university’s sports centre offers almost 80 different sports, including Zumba, flamenco, and surfing, as well as team sports, such as football, beach volleyball, and rugby. The city’s sports clubs are also always looking to recruit new members. You can indulge your creative side in one of the musical ensembles; the university choir and big band or the Academic Orchestra are always delighted to welcome new members. If your interests lie in debating, photography, or writing, you will find a number of workshops and student-based initiatives at MLU.

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure





Leben in Halle

Stadtleben Halle

Stadtleben Halle

Stadtleben Halle

In Halle finden Sie ein breites Kulturangebot in einer historischen und grünen Stadt, in der man preiswert wohnt und sich die Freizeit immer interessant gestalten lässt.

Vorstellungen in Oper, Theater, Varieté, Kabarett und Kinos sowie Konzerten und Ausstellungen sind ein fester Bestandteil der Kulturszene der Stadt. Auch das international bekannte Musikfest, die Händelfestspiele, und das größte Volksfest Mitteldeutschlands, das Laternenfest, werden in Halle gefeiert. Ein Blick in die Straßen zeigt Bauwerke aus verschiedenen Epochen wie Jugenstil, Klassizismus, Barock oder Renaissance. Sie geben der Stadt, in der fast 250.000 Menschen leben, ihre ganz besondere Atmosphäre.

Marktplatz Halle

Marktplatz Halle

Marktplatz Halle

In Halle hat man immer kurze Wege. Bus und Straßenbahn oder das Fahrrad bringen Sie schnell an Institute, in die Kneipenstraßen, zum Theater oder ins Grüne. Sogar ganz Deutschland lässt sich von Halle aus bequem erkunden. Mit dem Zug ist man in kurzer Zeit in Berlin, Leipzig, Dresden oder am Meer. Möchte man noch etwas weiter weg, braucht man vom Hauptbahnhof nur 10 Minuten zum Flughafen Leipzig/Halle.
Freizeit lässt sich in Halle angenehm gestalten: Bars, Kneipen und Restaurants laden zum Verweilen und Schlemmen ein. Später am Abend kann es dann in die Clubs und Szenetreffs gehen. Nach einem schönen Tag freut sich so mancher auf seine Wohnung, die in Halle im Vergleich zu anderen Großstädten wie München oder Köln preiswert ist. Besonders günstig lebt es sich in den Wohnheimen und Wohnanlagen des Studentenwerks, wo Tutoren internationalen Studierenden bei Fragen und Problemen weiterhelfen. Wissenschaftler können im Internationalen Begegnungszentrum eine Bleibe finden.

Wer nach fleißiger Arbeit richtig abschalten will, geht gerne auf die Peißnitz. Dieser große Park an der Saale bietet genug Raum, um die Natur zu genießen, Sport zu treiben oder mit Freunden zu Grillen. Auch Seen und Wälder finden sich ganz in der Nähe von Halle. Aktiv werden kann man auch zusammen mit anderen Mitgliedern der MLU oder der Stadt: Sport, Musik und freiwilliges Engagement finden in vielen Vereinen ihren Platz. Das Universitätssportzentrum bietet fast 80 Sportarten an, darunter Zumba, Flamenco oder Surfen und auch Mannschaftssportarten wie Fußball, Beachvolleyball oder Rugby. Die Sportvereine der Stadt suchen außerdem immer neue Mitglieder. Kreativ werden kann man in einem der musikalischen Ensembles: Universitätschor, Uni-Big-Band oder das akademische Orchester sind neue Mitglieder herzlich willkommen. Doch vielleicht interessieren Sie sich eher für Debattieren, Fotografieren oder Schreiben: Dafür sorgen die zahlreichen Arbeitsgemeinschaften und studentischen Initiativen der MLU.

Zum Seitenanfang