Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors





Studying and research

The origins of Martin Luther University go back a long way, with the University of Wittenberg, founded 1502, and the University of Halle, founded 1694, deciding to merge in 1817. Many famous people from the realms of culture and academia have studied at MLU and, even today, researchers from various disciplines at Halle, such as Law, Medicine, and Physics, are among the international academic elite.

Meanwhile, people have been coming to Halle from all over the word since as far back as 1730 for the teaching and top-level research. This should come as no surprise given the ideal conditions on offer here: 20 or so libraries with PC pools, the latest technology in terms of auditoriums and laboratories, and WLAN across the whole university (including, of course, in the refectories and cafeterias). The various sites at MLU are also undergoing continuous expansion, with the Science campuses already either renovated or in some cases rebuilt. The new Humanities centre is to open for the departments of the faculty of Philosophy in 2014.

There is plenty of room therefore for over 260 Bachelor’s and Master’s courses to choice of studies database), which cater for pretty much everything in terms of the sciences, humanities, economics, and the social sciences. The English-language teaching offer is also being expanded, with some study programmes being offered in English alone.

You will be very well looked after during your time at MLU, with the many lecturers and academic personnel ensuring a good level of personal contact during your stay with us as a student or researcher. You will also receive assistance from the Commissioner for Foreigners at the University with problems involving the university and the authorities, and the International Office is there to support you from day one with important information regarding study, research, and life in Halle.

Renowned research institutions from Halle collaborate with MLU through a wealth of research projects, including the Max Planck Society, the Fraunhofer Society, the Leibniz Association, and the Helmholtz Association. These, together with lecturers from industry and partnerships with such companies as Bayer, Dell, and Dow Chemical, help maintain a close link between learning and research and more practical applications.

The University’s own ‘Scientia Halensis’ magazine provides a regular insight into life at a university, with all its members and partners Campus Life.

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure





Studieren und forschen

Die Anfänge der Martin-Luther-Universität reichen weit zurück: 1817 schließen sich die Universität Wittenberg, gegründet 1502, und die Universität Halle, gegründet 1694, zusammen. Viele berühmte Persönlichkeiten aus Kultur und Wissenschaft waren Studierende an der MLU und auch heute sind Forscher aus Halle aus verschiedenen Disziplinen wie Jura, Medizin oder Physik Teil der internationalen Spitze der Wissenschaft.

Gleichzeitig kommen schon seit 1730 Menschen aus der ganzen Welt für Lehre und Spitzenforschung nach Halle. Das soll nicht verwundern, denn hier gibt es dafür die besten Bedingungen: Rund 20 Bibliotheken mit PC-Pools gehören genauso dazu wie moderne Technik in Hörsälen und Laboren, WLAN in der gesamten Universität und natürlich auch in den Mensen und Cafeterien. Dabei wächst die MLU mit ihren Standorten stetig: Die naturwissenschaftlichen Campi sind bereits saniert oder teilweise neu erbaut. Für die Institute der Philosophischen Fakultät wird 2014 das neue geisteswissenschaftliche Zentrum eröffnet.

...viel Platz also für über 260 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge, die aus den Natur-, Geistes- oder Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften fast alle Wünsche erfüllen. Auch das englischsprachige Lehrangebot  wird ausgeweitet. Hinzu kommen außerdem Studienprogramme, die vollständig in englischer Sprache angeboten werden.

Während Ihrer Zeit an der MLU werden Sie optimal betreut: Die hohe Zahl an Professoren und Professorinnen und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern garantiert den persönlichen Kontakt während Ihres Studien- und Forschungsaufenthaltes. Auch der Ausländerbeauftragte der Universität hilft Ihnen bei Problemen mit Hochschule und Behörden und das International Office steht Ihnen von Beginn an mit wichtigen Informationen zu Studium, Forschung und Leben in Halle zur Seite.

Renommierte Forschungsinstitute aus Halle kooperieren in vielen Forschungsprojekten mit der MLU: die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft gehören genauso dazu wie die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft und die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Sie tragen zusammen mit Dozenten aus der Industrie und Partnerschaften mit Unternehmen wie Bayer, Dell oder Dow Chemical zu einem praxisnahen Lernen und Forschen maßgeblich bei.

Wie sich das Leben an einer Universität mit all seinen Mitgliedern und Partnern gestaltet, zeigt regelmäßig das universitätseigene Magazin Scientia Halensis.

Zum Seitenanfang