Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Contact

Esther Smykalla
Referentin Internationale Forschung / Wissenschaftlermobilität

phone: +49 345 55 21538
fax: +49 345 55 27427

Universitätsring 19/20
06108 Halle (Saale)

postal address:
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
International Office
D-06099 Halle (Saale)

Further settings

Login for editors

Binational betreute Promotion / Cotutelle de thèse

In the „Cotutelle de thèse-procedure“the dissertation will be supervised and examined by two universities in two countries. Cotutelle does not mean, that there will be two doctoral degrees awarded. The difference between the conventional, international PhD and a Cotutelle one is the duplex supervision (Co-tutelle originates from Co-tutoring). Nevertheless, the Cotutelle makes it possible to get to know two systems of sciences and to build up the professional relevant contacts in both countries.

In principle, a binational PhD in the Cotutelle-procedure is possible in every country. Depending on the partner country, there could be some special features.

In each Cotutelle de thèse-procedure an agreement between all involved actors has to be concluded. The fundament of the legal bases are the PhD regulations of the faculty, in which you want to do your doctorate.

The following steps illustrate a recommendation:

  • Go to a first consultation in the International Office
  • Inform the PhD supervisor and the responsible person in the office of the dean of the faculty, in which you want to do your doctorate, and ask about the faculty-specific procedure for the binational supervised PhD as well as about a sample agreement.
  • Prepare an individual Cotutelle-agreement and negotiate the content of your individual agreement with both supervisors. If there is no sample agreement available at the faculty in which you want to do your doctorate, please use the given template of the HRK.
  • Ask your supervisor to send the agreement, for assessment, to the “Justitiarat of the MLU”. Please keep in mind that only agreements, which are written in German, will be examined.
  • Ask your supervisor to forward the legally examined version in order to gather the signature to the office of the dean.
  • Ask the office of the dean to send a signed version of the Cotutelle-agreement to the International Office.

Further information about binationally supervised doctorate

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Kontakt

Esther Smykalla
Referentin Internationale Forschung / Wissenschaftlermobilität

Telefon: +49 345 55 21538
Telefax: +49 345 55 27427

Universitätsring 19/20
06108 Halle (Saale)

Postanschrift:
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
International Office
D-06099 Halle (Saale)

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Binational betreute Promotion / Cotutelle de thèse

Im Cotutelle de thèse-Verfahren wird eine Dissertation durch zwei Hochschulen in zwei Ländern gemeinsam betreut und begutachtet. Cotutelle bedeutet nicht, dass zwei Doktorgrade verliehen werden. Der Unterschied zwischen einer herkömmlichen internationalen Promotion und einer Cotutelle liegt in der zweifachen Betreuung (Co-tutelle kommt von Co-Tutor). Gleichwohl ermöglicht eine Cotutelle das Kennenlernen zweier Wissenschaftssysteme und das Aufbauen von beruflich relevanten Kontakten in beiden Ländern.

Prinzipiell ist eine binationale Promotion im Cotutelle-Verfahren mit jedem Land möglich. Je nach Partnerland können sich bei einer Cotutelle einige Besonderheiten ergeben.

In jedem einzelnen Cotutelle de thèse-Verfahren ist eine Vereinbarung zwischen den beteiligten Akteuren zu schließen. Die rechtliche Grundlage hierfür bildet die Promotionsordnung der Fakultät, an der Sie promovieren.

Folgende Schritte stellen eine Empfehlung dar:

  • Kommen Sie zu einer Erstberatung ins International Office.
  • Informieren Sie Ihre Promotionsbetreuerin / Ihren Promotionsbetreuer und die für Promotionsangelegenheiten zuständige Person im Dekanat der Fakultät, an der Sie die Promotion einreichen möchten und fragen nach der fakultätsspezifischen Verfahrensweise zu binational betreuten Promotionen sowie nach einer möglichen Mustervereinbarung.
  • Bereiten Sie die individuelle Cotutelle-Vereinbarung vor und handeln Sie die Inhalte Ihrer individuellen Vereinbarung mit Ihren beiden Betreuern / Betreuerinnen aus. Sollte es an der Fakultät, an der Sie Ihre Promotion durchführen, keine Mustervereinbarung geben, nutzen Sie bitte wenn möglich die Vorlage der HRK.
  • Bitten Sie Ihren Betreuer/Ihre Betreuerin, die Vereinbarung zwecks Prüfung an das Justitiariat der MLU zu schicken. Bitte beachten Sie dabei, dass nur deutschsprachige Vereinbarungen geprüft werden.
  • Bitten Sie Ihren Betreuer/Ihre Betreuerin, die juristisch geprüfte Version zur Einholung der Unterschriften an das Dekanat weiterzuleiten.
  • Bitten Sie das Dekanat, eine unterchriebene Version der Cotutelle-Vereinbarung an das International Office zu schicken.

Weitere Informationen zu binational betreuten Promotionen

Zum Seitenanfang